New Holland Main Image

Take a look back at the Agricar Group 36 year history


1986 – Agricar was formed when Jim Johnston and John Milne completed a management buyout in December which included the depots at Forfar and Montrose.

1988 – The Montrose depot was moved to Laurencekirk due to the availability of the main franchise as a result of the Aberdeen tractors organisation closing down.

1989 – Agricar expanded into Dunbartonshire with the purchase of Erskine Tractors opening a depot at Clydebank.

1991 – Agricar took over the Perth branch due to the demise of Gilles and Henderson group.

1994 – The Agricar Group purchased local Forfar based company Forfar Electrical.

2000 – Forfar Electrical purchased the Brechin company J+D Ness, prompting the name change from Forfar Electrical to its current name Ness Electrical.

2002 – Ness Plant started from Agricar’s premises in Laurencekirk, then Agricar took the decision to move it to the head office in Forfar to help meet demand of our customer base. 

2003 – Agricar further expanded into Ayrshire with the opening of the Dundonald branch as a result of the franchise area being vacant.

2006 – Ness Plant expansion resulted in a relocation to new premises in Brechin thus filling a gap in the marketplace.

2008 – Clydebank closed with the plans of relocating to the Stirlingshire area the following year.

2009 – Agricar opened a branch at Doune to cover the Stirlingshire customer base.

2010 – To meet the growing customer demand Ness Plant opened a new branch at Kinross.

2011 – The Agricar Group launched Agricar Group Finance which, as a credit broker, enabled a provision for finance to be offered to both Agricar Group customers and the wider agricultural and business marketplace.

2014 – The Doune branch was relocated to purpose-built premises at the Stirling Market.

2017 - New Holland Dealer of the Year Runner up for Large Volume Tractor and Harvester.

2018 - Won Overall New Holland Dealer of the Year and also won New Holland Telehandler Dealer of the Year.

2020 - Won New Holland Dealer of the Year Medium TIV and  New Holland Service Dealer of the Year.

2021 – The Agricar Group celebrates 35 years in business with over 110 staff across Agricar, Ness Plant, Ness Electrical and Agricar Group Finance combined.

2022 - New Holland restructured their Scottish Dealer Network. As a result Agricar ceased trading from their depot in Dundonald in May and began trading in Fife from their depot in Cupar.

2022 - Won New Holland Service Dealer of the Year and New Holland Implement Dealer of the Year.